Chris Marshall


Recognize your favorite professor or advisor

If you have exceptional faculty or advisors who have made a positive impact on you, then take the time to recognize them. Nominate a professor or advisor has had a significant influence on your life as a student and helped shape your professional path. The College of Science is seeking nominations for the following awards. 

Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Academic Advising

Nomination Link

Loyd F. Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Teaching in Science - Two Awards - One for Undergraduate Teaching, and one for Graduate Teaching

Nomination Link


Honors and Awards

Contact the College for specific annual deadlines. Faculty, staff and students may submit nominations for these awards. 

F.A. Gilfillan Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science - deadline July 15th of each year
Recognizes distinguished scholarship and scientific accomplishments by faculty members in Science. Special consideration is given to candidates with distinguished research careers.

Milton Harris Award in Basic Research in Science deadline July 15th of each year
Recognizes exceptional achievement in basic research by honoring an outstanding faculty member in the College of Science. Special consideration is given to recent research that was carried out at OSU and that will have a significant impact on its field.

Dean's Early Career Achievement Award - deadline July 15th of each year
Recoginized exceptional achievement in research and education by an early-career tenure-stream faculty member.

Outstanding Faculty Research Assistant or Associate Award - deadline July 15th of each year
Recognizes an individual Faculty Research Assistant, Associate, or Senior Faculty Assistant or Associate with a career record of outstanding job performance and contributions.

Gladys Valley Award for Exemplary Administrative Support - deadline July 15th of each year

Recognizes outstanding job performance and dedication by a College staff person to the individual's Department and to the College.

College of Science Distinguished Service Award -  deadline October 22, 2019

The purpose of the College of Science Distinguished Service Award is to recognize exceptional achievement in service by recognizing outstanding contributions by members of the College of Science. All faculty, staff, and students in the College are eligible for the award. Nominations may recognize individual or team accomplishments.

College of Science Inclusive Excellence Award  - deadline October 22, 2019

This award recognizes the outstanding work of a faculty, staff, or student in advancing inclusive excellence at OSU.  Examples include helping to recruit students or employees from underrepresented communities to OSU, generating resources to advance EJI at OSU, promoting and advancing EJI at OSU, improving the climate of a unit within COS, supporting and advancing the cultural resource centers, advancing the role of women in science, or outstanding service as a search advocate. The award recognizes work primarily done at or for OSU, including contributions outside of COS.

Champion of Science Award

This is the Dean’s award recognizing an individual or individuals who demonstrate excellence, extra effort beyond that requested, and highest quality performance.  It is modeled, including the words, after the President’s Beaver Champion award.  The Dean selects the awardee.

ASBC Exemplary Service Award 

The ASBC Exemplary Service Award recognizes a non-managerial member of the Arts and Sciences Business Center staff for exemplary service to the Colleges that comprise our division: the College of Education, the University Honors College, the College of Liberal Arts, and the College of Science.

Loyd F. Carter Awards for Outstanding and Inspirational Teaching in Science
The Loyd F. Carter Award is presented to two outstanding College of Science faculty members, one for undergraduate teaching and one for graduate teaching.

Olaf Boedtker Award for Excellence in Academic Advising
Recognizes exceptional and inspirational advising of undergraduate students.

Fred Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching Science - deadline January 15th of each year
Recognizes sustained excellence in teaching science by honoring a faculty member in the College of Science who has repeatedly demonstrated exceptional instructional qualities and has had a significant impact on students over a period of not less than five years.

Robert W Lundeen Science Faculty Development Award
Supports meaningful faculty development through the pursuit of scholarship or professional capacity-building activities. 

Joel Davis Award for Excellence in Mathematics
Recognizes outstanding work in mathematics